North Humberside Forest Rally 2008



19th March 2008

STEVE PEREZ, the winner of the 2007 North Humberside Forest Rally, has been out of action following an accident on the East African Safari Rally last December but, having been given clearance by the medics to begin competing once more, the boss of the Chesterfield-based VK drinks concern travels to Whitby to take the No.1 spot on this year's event in his familiar Ford Focus WRC. Former British Rally Champion co-driver HOWARD DAVIES joins him on this occasion as he attempts back-to-back wins over the North York Moors stages.

The 'North Humberside' is the third round of the Silverstone Tyres BTRDA Rally Series and defending Gold Star Rally Champions WILL NICHOLLS/NICK BROOM (Subaru Impreza WRC), who were runners-up here last year, journey up from the south coast with the express intention of capitalising on the slender lead they have in the series at this early stage.

However, all their main rivals will be doing likewise - HUGH HUNTER/ANDY MARCHBANK & MIKE O'BRIEN/PAUL WILLETTS (both Ford Focus WRCs) and DAMIAN COLE/CRAIG DREW (Hyundai Accent WRC) each have designs on the coveted Gold Star title and will be doing their utmost to establish supremacy in the keenly-fought series!

Meanwhile, the two-wheel drive only BTRDA Silver Star Championship is equally hotly contested and, as crews arrive in North Yorkshire, several very quick and well-driven Ford Escort MkIIs from across the Irish Sea currently rule the roost. In event terms, the first Escort in the entry belongs to NICK ELLIOTT, from Cheltenham, who finished an amazing 10th overall on the opening round of the BTRDA series in the Forest of Dean at the beginning of February. Behind him, FRANK KELLY, ADRIAN HETHERINGTON, SEAMUS O'CONNELL & RYAN BARRETT will all have had ferry crossings to endure on their way to Whitby.

The Opel Manta of former double Silver Star Champion JON BALLINGER breaks the Ford stranglehold and we mustn't forget ROGER TAYLOR, from Birmingham, whose own Escort is holding its own amongst the Irish!

As ever, the first cars away from the start will be those in the 1400cc category and it will be the Suzuki Ignis of GRAHAM MIDDLETON that leads the field away from West Cliff at 9.00am on Saturday 29th March. Having already won the BTRDA Gold Star Championship (2004) and Silver Star (2007), Graham has now turned his attention to the BTRDA 1400 Championship as he sets his sights on becoming the first person to win all three of the constituent elements of the BTRDA Rally Series. It goes without saying, however, that there are any number of drivers who will have other ideas on the subject!...

The first car is due to arrive back at West Cliff for the finish of the rally at 3.40pm.

Spectator Information and a PROVISIONAL Entry List are attached to this bulletin.

- ENDS -

[Special Stage Rally Results Archive] [index for this event]

Last Modified: 24 March 2008

Page Author: David James,

Valid HTML 4.01!