North Humberside Forest Rally 1999

A brief history of the rally and North Humberside MC Ltd

The rally started life as what is jokingly remembered as the 'Tour of a thousand corn fields' as it originally relied on farm tracks and fields for its stage mileage. The event has only had 4 organising teams, the present one taking it into the forests in 1987. Two years later it was invited into the BTRDA Championship, a status that it has enjoyed ever since.

During its existence it has had some notable names on the entry list including former World Sportscar Champion Derek Bell and Michael Lavell, perhaps better known as Kevin Webster from the television series Coronation Street.

North Humberside Motor Club currently has a membership of around 200. The club promotes numerous motor sports events as well as social gatherings throughout the year.

The club has some fairly ambitious members 2 of whom competed in the 1993 rerun of the London to Sidney Marathon. A club member also won the 1986 Himalayan Rally.

Previous Winners

1998 Jimmy Paterson/Steve Harris Subaru Impreza
1997 Warren Philliskirk/Eurig Evans MG Metro 6R4
1996 Matthew Clark/Robert Dyson Ford Escort Cosworth
1995 Brian Lyall/Neil Ewing Ford Escort Cosworth
1994 Adrian Struthers/Graham Law Ford Escort RS
1993 Steve Petch/Peter Croft Ford Escort Cosworth
1992 Neil Hiorns/Paul Hirst Ford Sierra
1991 Steve Bannister/Julie Stephenson Ford Escort
1990 Nick Elliot/Dave Price Ford Escort
1989 Steve Bannister/Dave Oldfield Ford Escort
1988 Steve Bannister/Dave Oldfield Ford Escort
1987 Steve Bannister/Dave Oldfield Ford Escort

[Special Stage Rally Results Archive] [index for this event]

Last Modified: 19 January 1999

Page Author: David James,