BTRDA Rally Series 1999

Competitors Bulletin No 5 - April 1999

Congratulations to Ian Joel (Ford Escort Cosworth) who became the fourth different winner of a round of the BTRDA Rally Series this season when, after a topsy turvy day (literally for Pete Littler who rolled his Escort Cosworth whilst in the lead!) - he won the Somerset Stages Rally. Unseasonal weather - if there is such a thing these days! - in the week prior to the rally had left the stages very slippery and, on an event where the lead changed hands several times, it was Joel who arrived back in Minehead to claim the spoils. Having elected to miss the rally, John Thompson (Ford Escort Cosworth) still leads the Clear System Solutions Silver Star Championship by just three points from defending champion Theo bengry (Mitsubishi Lancer) who was runner-up for the second year in succession.

The Somerset Stages marked the forest debut of the Peugeot Super 106 Cup and there were 38 of the 1600 cc cars mixing it with the Gold Star runners. Marcus Dodd surprised everyone with his pace to take sixth place overall and win the category in his new car but Martin Meadows ignored what was going on around him to take his second maximum score of the season. In doing so, he moves into the lead of the Championship in his Proton Compact and, in spite of a non-finish in Somerset, Phil Morgan is second with Nick Pollitt moving back into third.

Red Dragon Rally - Saturday 29th May

Entries Secretary: Caroline Mitchell - Tel: 01792 427212

The regulations for the season's new event, the Shield Security Systems Red Dragon Rally, have now been published. Registered BTRDA crews should have automatically been sent a set but, if you have not received one, you know what to do! ... The rally is based in Aberavon and takes the Championship into the forest of South Wales for the first time for a number of years. A compact route featuring forty-five miles, in just five stages, with three service areas is on offer and the entry fee is £260.00.

Mintex Bonus Awards

The winners on the Somerset Stages Rally each receive a set of Mintex competition brake pads supplied by Alan Brown @ Questmead (Tel: 01706 860088) who attends all BTRDA events.
Class N1 Duncan Williams Steve Chapman
Class N3 Steven Bayley Jeremy Hoyland
Class N4 John Perrott Steve Pallot

Dunlop Bonus Awards

The winners of the Dunlop Bonus awards on the Somerset Stages Rally will be advised in the next Bulletin (No. 6).

Peugeot Bonus Awards

The winners of the Peugeot Bonus Awards on the North Humberside Forest Rally were:
Peugeot 106 Peugeot 306
£150 Nick Pollitt £150 Matthew Fowle
£75 Richard Sykes £75 Adrian McKee
£25 Steve Chapman £25 Patrick MacArthur

Silkolene Bonus Awards

The winners of the Silkolene Bonus Awards on the Somerset Stages Rally were:
Class N4 Steve Pallot Paul Fry

These official Bulletins, along with full Championship points tables, will be issued after each round of the BTRDA Rally Series. Any queries relating to them must be addressed to Howard Wilcock, at the address at the top of this bulletin, within seven days of receipt.

[BTRDA Bulletin after previous round] []

[Special Stage Rally Results Archive] [index for this event]

Issued: 26 April 1999. Last Modified: 30 April 1999

Page Author: David James,